Dear Parents and Guardians,

Greetings!  Your child has expressed an interest in participating in the 29th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Oratorical Contest. This is a regional oratorical competition open to all middle and high school students in Prince William County to celebrate and honor the legacy of Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 

This year’s theme is: “Let Freedom Ring.” The event will be held on Monday, January 20, 2020 at 9:30am (snow date: Saturday, February 1, 2019 at 9:30 am.) The location is Hylton Memorial Chapel, 14640 Potomac Mills Rd, Woodbridge, VA 22192 and students will be responsible for their own transportation.

To better assist students, Writing Workshops will be held on Tuesdays and Thursdays after-school in the library from 3:15pm-4:30pm.  Activity buses will be available for bus riders.   

Dates of Writing Workshops will be:

Thursday, November 7                                                           Thursday, November 21

Tuesday, November 12                                                           Tuesday, December 3

Thursday, November 14                                                         Thursday December 5

Tuesday, November 19                                                          

 

In the workshops, students will work on outlines, drafts, speech delivery, vocal projection, and presentation styles.  The school judging will occur on Tuesday December 10, 2019 at 3:15 p.m. in the library.  The make-up date will be Thursday December 12, 2019. Please address questions to Mrs. Funches at 703.221.2118 ext. 3681.  Your support of your child in this unique educational opportunity is greatly appreciated.

 

Sincerely,

 

Tara Funches, MSW                                                              

MLK Coordinator